The Road to the Holy Grail

This morning I decided I would post “The Holy Grail” by the Australian band, Hunters and Collectors as my next “On the Road” prompt.

Before I did that though I needed to go down town and get some groceries.   While I was there a wild rain storm blew in.   Seeking shelter I went to a second hand store where I found a treasure trove of interesting books.   In a little volume called “Reflections on the Art of Living” edited by Diane K Osbon I read:

“What the Holy Grail symbolizes is the highest spiritual fulfillment of a human life.  Each life has some kind of high fulfillment, and each has its own gift from the Grail…   It has to do with overcoming the same temptations that the Buddha overcame; of attachment to this, that or the other life detail that has pulled you off course…   In the Grail legends, the land of people doing what they think they ought to do or have to do is the wasteland.

“Holy Grail” lyrics

Woke up this morning from the strangest dream
I was in the biggest army the world has ever seen
We were marching as one
On the road to the holy grailStarted out seeking fortune and glory
It’s a short song but it’s a hell of a story
When you spend your lifetime trying to get your hands
On the holy grailWell have you heard about the great crusade
We ran into millions, but nobody got paid
Yeah we raised four corners of the globe
For the holy grail

All the locals scattered, they were hiding in the snow
We were so far from home, so how were we to know
There’d be nothing left to plunder
When we stumble on the holy grail

We were full of beans
But we were dying like flies
And those big black birds, they were circling in the sky
And you know what they say, yeah, nobody deserves to die

You know I, I been searching for an easy way
To escape this cold light of day
I been high and I been low
But I got nowhere else to go

There’s nowhere else to go

Oh

I followed orders
God knows where I’ve been
But I woke up alone
All my wounds were clean
I’m still here
I’m still a fool for the holy grail

I am, I’m a fool for the holy grail

PROMPT:   create a haiku, tanka, haibun or haiga in response to “On the Road to the Holy Grail”.    Please post a link to your response in the comment thread.

13 thoughts on “The Road to the Holy Grail

  1. Pingback: Collages

  2. Pingback: Seeking | Collages

  3. Pingback: Dignity – Ontheland

    • Sorry about the delay in getting back to you. I didn’t go online for a couple of days because of a headache. I’m loving reading your posts. They are so thoughtful and in depth. Thanks for joining in. 🙂

      Like

    • Hi Leroy, I’m really glad you enjoyed the prompt. Could you please post a link to your response. I went to your blog but wasn’t sure which post related to this prompt. Thank you.

      Like

I love hearing what you think

